In this article
A note before we start: Cloud 9 Payments sells merchant services and POS systems in Northeast Ohio. Shift4 is a competitor. Everything below comes from Shift4's own SEC filings, contracts, and help pages, plus complaints merchants filed publicly with the Better Business Bureau and Trustpilot. Where a claim comes from a merchant complaint, we say so. Those are one-sided accounts and we can't verify them. Read the sources yourself; the links are at the bottom.
On August 1, 2026, restaurant and bar owners across the country opened their bank apps and found a Shift4 debit they didn't recognize: $1,200. $1,265. $1,577. $2,112. Nobody had called and nobody had emailed. When they got through to support, sometimes after 30 minutes on hold, they were told it was the new Shift4 "Annual Service & Maintenance Fee" and that notice had been posted in an online portal.
Some of these owners had already paid an "annual" fee in January. Some had been trying to cancel for months. One had closed the restaurant entirely and shipped the equipment back, and was still looking at a bill.
This is how the "free hardware" model works, and Shift4 says as much in its own investor materials. If you run SkyTab (now called Shift4 Dine), or a rep is offering you a free POS system, this post walks through the numbers and the contract in plain English, using Shift4's documents rather than our opinion.
What Shift4 told Wall Street about free POS hardware
On August 6, 2026, five days after those debits hit, Shift4 filed its Q2 2026 Shareholder Letter with the SEC. Page 13 lays out the company's capital allocation framework. The first heading is Customer Acquisition, and the first two bullets under it are:
- "Eliminate upfront costs for our merchants by providing essential hardware"
- "Provide financial incentives to align our partners and salespeople"
That's the free POS. Shift4 lists it as a customer acquisition cost, the same way a company would list ad spend, and the salesperson who brought it to your door was paid to get you signed.
The balance sheet in the same filing shows what that costs Shift4 and where the money has to come back from:
| Line item (quarter ended June 30, 2026) | Amount |
|---|---|
| Equipment for lease, net | $257 million |
| Capitalized customer acquisition costs, net | $99 million |
| Cash spent acquiring equipment to lease, first half of 2026 | $68 million |
| Depreciation of leased equipment, Q2 alone | $26 million |
The hardware on your counter is a leased asset on Shift4's books. The company recovers it over the life of your contract through processing markup, monthly software fees, and annual fees. Shift4's own help desk says the Annual Program Fee is what "ensures that Shift4 can provide Terminals and PIN Pads without upfront costs." So you are paying for the terminal. You're just paying on a schedule you didn't set.
One more number from that quarter matters. Shift4's adjusted free cash flow fell 82% year over year, from $118 million to $21 million. We're not saying that caused the August fee. We are saying that when a public company needs cash and holds a contract that lets it raise fees at will, merchants should expect fees to go up.
How Shift4's fees climbed, 2023 to 2026
The August fee is the latest step in a three-year run of new charges and increases. Most of them are documented on Shift4's own help desk or in billing notices that the fee-audit firm Merchant Cost Consulting collected from its clients.
| When | What changed | Cost to a typical 2-terminal restaurant |
|---|---|---|
| Through 2023 | Annual Program Fee, $99 per device | $198/year |
| Late 2023 | Annual Program Fee raised to $250 per device (cap $1,000) | $500/year |
| March 2025 | Per-transaction fee raised by $0.03 | Varies |
| Sept 2025 | +0.07% + $0.05 per transaction; new $20/month portal fee; new $50/month premium support fee | $840/year in monthly fees alone |
| Dec 1, 2025 | Regulatory Assurance Fee raised from $129.99 to $325 per device (cap $975) | $650/year |
| March 2026 | Month-end billing fee raised from 0.02% to 0.05% of volume | On $50K/month: $300/year |
| July 1, 2026 | New Online Ordering Enablement Fee, $34.99/month, charged whether or not you use online ordering | $420/year |
| Aug 1, 2026 | Annual Program Fee + Regulatory Assurance Fee "consolidated" into one Annual Service & Maintenance Fee, $1,200 to $2,000 per account in merchant reports | $1,500/year in MCC's notices |
The March 2025, September 2025 and July 2026 rows come from billing notices MCC reports seeing on its clients' statements; we couldn't find those on Shift4's public pages. The last row deserves a closer look.
The "consolidation" was a price increase
Under the old structure, a two-terminal shop paid $500 (program fee) plus $650 (regulatory fee), or $1,150. The new fee for that same shop came in at $1,500 in the notices MCC collected. Larger accounts got $2,000, which is more than the old maximum of $1,975 for four devices. Merchant Cost Consulting, which audits hundreds of Shift4 statements, wrote in June that it had "yet to see an account where the new annual fee is less than what the merchant previously paid."
The notice was a statement insert
Shift4 sent an "Important Billing Update" in the first week of June, attached to monthly statements and posted in its Customer Hub portal. If you don't read your statement PDFs line by line, or don't have a portal login, you didn't see it.
It landed on August 1, in peak season
For most restaurants and bars, August is the busy stretch. Shift4's help desk confirms the fee bills on "the July statement, which is received on August 1st." The contract gives you 30 days after you receive the statement to dispute a charge in writing. For a lot of owners, that window closed before they noticed.
Some merchants got billed twice
Several complaints describe paying an "annual" fee in January and then the new "annual" fee in August. Shift4's own guidance says the new fee replaces the old ones. If you paid a Regulatory Assurance Fee earlier in 2026 and then got the full consolidated fee in August, you have a legitimate dispute.
What the Shift4 Merchant Processing Agreement allows
Here's the uncomfortable part. Almost everything merchants are angry about is permitted by the paperwork they signed. Shift4's standard Merchant Processing Agreement is 11 pages long, and the clauses that matter are summarized below. (Contract versions vary, so check yours. Section numbers are from the version posted on shift4.com.)
Shift4 can change your fees whenever it wants
The header of the agreement says it in capital letters: "BANK OR COMPANY CAN CHANGE THE FEES AT ANY TIME." Section 12.7 says Shift4 may amend the agreement "including by adding new terms or fees or increasing fees, at any time." Section 12.15 adds a built-in annual escalator: after year one, your total fees can rise every year by the greater of inflation plus 1%, or 4%.
Your contract renews itself
Section 1.2 sets an initial term of 30 months. After that it renews automatically for one-year terms unless you give written notice at least 90 days before the current term ends. Miss that window by a day and you're in for another year. A merchant who signed in 2021 and thought they were done in 2026 found this out in August.
Shift4 can take money straight from your bank account
Under Section 4.1 you "irrevocably" authorize Shift4 to debit your account for fees and penalties, and that authority "will remain in effect for at least two (2) years after termination." Section 7.6, the chargeback section, allows immediate debits "without notice or demand of any kind," and reaches a personal guarantor's accounts too.
If you reverse the debit, Shift4 can hold your deposits
Section 5.1 lets Shift4 deduct what it says you owe from the money it would otherwise send you from your card sales. Several August complaints describe exactly this: the merchant disputed the fee with their bank, and their daily batch deposits stopped until Shift4 collected.
The early termination fee is your monthly bill times the months left
Section 8.5.4 sets "liquidated damages" equal to your average monthly fees over the prior 12 months, multiplied by the number of months remaining on your term. A restaurant paying $1,500 a month in processing and fees with 18 months left is looking at $27,000. The clause states this is not a penalty. Unreturned equipment is billed at replacement cost, "typically $200 to $1,000 per terminal."
You can't join a class action
Section 10 requires binding individual arbitration and waives class actions, class arbitrations, and private attorney general actions. Every merchant hit in August has to fight alone, which is why these disputes show up on the BBB instead of in court.
Your fee dispute window is 30 days
Section 4.3 gives you 30 calendar days after you receive a statement to dispute a charge in writing. Section 9.2 gives you one year to bring any legal claim at all.
How a $99 fee became $250 without a new signature
The Free Equipment Program terms add one more wrinkle. The version on Shift4's site authorizes "a $99.00 Annual Program Fee per Terminal ID." The help desk says the fee is now $250 per device. Section 7 of those terms explains the gap: Shift4 may amend them "at any time, with or without notice." Shift4's help desk article on the Regulatory Assurance Fee takes the same view of its own price, saying merchants "have agreed to this annual fee price" by continuing to process after notice. In other words, running your business counts as consent.
What restaurant and bar owners are reporting
As of late September 2026, Shift4's BBB profile shows about 180 complaints closed in the last three years, more than 100 of them in the last twelve months. Ten new complaints appeared over a few days while we were researching this. The company is still BBB Accredited with an A+ rating, which tells you something about what accreditation measures. For balance: Shift4 holds a 4.1 out of 5 on Trustpilot from about 900 reviews, roughly three quarters of them five stars. Plenty of merchants like the product. The complaints are about the billing.
We read the first page of August 2026 complaints, 15 in all, and the table below summarizes 11 of them. Each one is the merchant's account and we have no way to verify it, but the pattern is consistent enough to lay out.
| Filed | Charge | Business | What the merchant says | Shift4's reply |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | $1,200 "renewal fee" (prior years: $500) | Not stated | Asked repeatedly for their Merchant ID to log into the portal and see the notice; says Shift4 refused | Already addressed |
| Aug 11 | About $2,000 | Not stated | "without proper notifications" | Notice was in the Customer Hub |
| Aug 11 | About $1,300, after about $800 in January | Family restaurant | Bank reversed it; Shift4 then held daily deposits until it collected | Contacting the owner |
| Aug 11 | $639 | Coffee shop | Rep promised "no hidden fees" in writing before signing | See Customer Hub notifications |
| Aug 12 | $2,112.01 (plus $1,089 in Aug 2025 and $1,066 in Jan 2026) | Restaurant | Took partial refunds in exchange for one-year extensions; now told contract runs to August 2028 | Customer Hub; offered $600 |
| Aug 13 | $1,265, after $1,000 earlier in 2026 | Bar | Told the $1,000 covered the whole year; can't get through to cancel | Owner must be on the call |
| Aug 14 | About $10,000 early termination fee | Restaurant, closed Jan 2026, equipment returned with tracking | Says the ETF was never disclosed | Being handled per the agreement |
| Aug 19 | $1,635 "yearly maintenance" | Not stated | Tried to close the account in February; told the contract ran to August | Will call directly |
| Aug 19 | $1,577.29 | Not stated | Rep quoted about $100 a month total | Billing confirmed valid |
| Aug 20 | $1,200 | Takeout restaurant | Terminal was declared obsolete and unsupported, then billed a maintenance fee | Equipment must be upgraded |
| Aug 26 | $1,260 | Not stated | Contract ends Nov 21; asked for proration | Would reach out |
A few patterns stand out.
The debits cluster on August 1 to 3. That matches the help desk's billing schedule, so this looks like a scheduled billing run rather than a handful of errors.
Shift4's answer is almost always the same: notice was posted in the Customer Hub. That's true, and it's also the whole problem. A portal notice buried in a statement PDF counts as legal notice. A working restaurant owner is not going to see it during a July dinner rush.
Refunds come with strings. The Aug 12 restaurant is the clearest example. Twice it accepted a partial refund of a surprise fee, and twice that refund came bundled with a one-year contract extension. Now it's locked in through 2028, and the fee it just got hit with is double what it was two years ago. If Shift4 offers to "work with you" on a fee, read what you're signing.
A Trustpilot reviewer who runs a small takeout place reported a $1,373 debit on August 3, $1,200 of it the annual fee, on a business doing roughly $3,000 to $4,000 a month in card sales. That's about a third of a month's card revenue taken in one day, for a fee that covers, per Shift4's own reply, "24/7 technical support, equipment swaps and repairs." Another reviewer was told by a Shift4 rep that the fee is charged in advance even if the account is canceled later. A third, who says they closed their account with proper notice, was still charged $1,225 for a year of service they will never use.
"This is really about trust"
In July 2023, Toast tried to add a 99-cent fee on online orders over $10. Restaurant owners revolted and Toast pulled it within weeks. Shift4 saw an opening. On July 27, 2023, it issued a press release announcing it would pay restaurants $1 per online order for their first three months, plus a $5,000 signing bonus to switch. Then-CEO Jared Isaacman said competitors were "getting creative and aggressive with their billing tactics," and summed it up: "This is really about trust."
Isaacman also noted that Shift4 "does not charge for hardware, loyalty programs, or for processing online orders." Here's how that reads three years later:
| Shift4 in July 2023 | Shift4 in 2026 |
|---|---|
| Doesn't charge for processing online orders | $34.99/month Online Ordering Enablement Fee, charged whether you use it or not |
| Doesn't charge for hardware | Help desk: the annual fee is what lets Shift4 provide terminals "without upfront costs" |
| Criticized rivals' "junk fees" | Raised its Regulatory Assurance Fee, added a portal fee, a premium support fee, and a consolidated annual fee that costs more than the two it replaced |
| "This is really about trust" | Standard BBB reply: notice was provided via the Customer Hub |
We're not quoting this to pile on. Shift4 was right in 2023: surprise fees are a trust problem.
SkyTab is now Shift4 Dine
SkyTab was renamed Shift4 Dine on May 12, 2026. The hardware and software are the same, and the pricing that third-party review sites report hasn't moved either: $29.99 per terminal per month, a 2.75% + 15¢ standard rate, and a 30-day trial that rolls into a 36-month term. The rebrand didn't change the contract. If you're researching SkyTab reviews, you're researching Shift4 Dine, and vice versa.
The Harbortouch history
Shift4's restaurant POS business came from Harbortouch, which Shift4's parent company owned before it bought the Shift4 name in 2018. Harbortouch settled a merchant class action in New Jersey over unauthorized annual fees and basis-point charges, paying roughly $7.2 million under a settlement that became final in 2015. A second federal case in Nebraska settled around the same time. A new class action filed against Harbortouch in 2023 makes similar allegations. Shift4's current contracts waive class actions, so that route is closed to anyone who signed recently.
If you're on Shift4 Dine or SkyTab: what to do now
You may not be able to get out right away. You can stop the bleeding and set yourself up to leave cleanly. If you haven't gone through a processing statement line by line before, our guide to reading one helps with step 1.
- Pull your August statement. Look for "Annual Service & Maintenance," "Regulatory Assurance," or "Annual Program" line items. Then pull January's. If you were charged an annual fee in both months of 2026, Shift4's own guidance says the new fee replaced the old ones. Dispute it.
- Dispute in writing, not by phone. The contract gives you 30 days after you receive the statement. Email, and keep a copy. A phone call after a 30-minute hold doesn't leave a paper trail.
- Find your term end date. Ask for your Merchant ID and your original agreement if you don't have them. Note the date and set a calendar reminder 120 days before it.
- Send written non-renewal notice at least 90 days out. Use certified mail plus email. If you miss the window, you're automatically renewed for a year and the ETF clock resets.
- Think before you reverse the debit at your bank. Shift4 can offset the amount against your daily deposits. Several merchants who charged back the fee had their batch deposits held. If cash flow is tight, that can hurt more than the fee.
- Get the ETF number in writing before you cancel. Ask what the liquidated damages figure is today. It's your average monthly fees times the months remaining. Know the number before you make a move.
- Return equipment with tracking. The contract gives 15 days after termination in one document and 60 in another. Use 15. Photograph the serial numbers and keep the tracking receipt. Unreturned terminals are billed at $200 to $1,000 each.
- Log into the Customer Hub and read every notice. That's where the next fee change will be posted, and by contract, that counts as telling you.
If a Shift4 rep offers to refund part of a fee in exchange for "updating" your agreement, ask what the new term end date is before you say yes.
How Cloud 9 does free POS hardware differently
Full disclosure again: we compete with Shift4, and we also put free hardware on your counter. "Free" is the same word either way, so the fair question is what's underneath ours.
Here is how our TableTurn POS program for bars and restaurants compares:
| Shift4 Dine (per its published contract) | Cloud 9 TableTurn | |
|---|---|---|
| Hardware and software | Free upfront; annual fees fund it | Free, no annual fee |
| Contract term | 30 to 36 months, auto-renews yearly, 90-day notice to exit | No term contract. Leave when you want. |
| Early termination fee | Average monthly fees × months remaining | None |
| Processing cost to you | 2.75% + 15¢ standard (as reported by review sites), plus the fees above | Zero. Dual pricing passes the card cost to the customer who chooses to pay by card. |
| Fee changes | "At any time," notice via portal | We put it in writing and send it to you before it takes effect |
| Volume minimum | Varies by agreement | None |
If you're wondering whether dual pricing is allowed here, we covered that in is dual pricing legal in Ohio.
We can run it this way because we're a local shop in Chagrin Falls, not a public company with a $257 million hardware line on the balance sheet and a stock price to defend. We don't have a Customer Hub. You have our phone number.
If you own a bar or restaurant in Akron, Cleveland, Canton, or anywhere in between and got one of those August debits, call or text us at 1-855-297-6722 or send us your last two Shift4 statements. We'll tell you exactly what you're paying, what it would cost to leave, and whether leaving is worth it. If the numbers say stay, we'll tell you that too, and skip the pitch.
And if you're about to sign with anybody, including us, get the term, the exit fee, and every recurring fee in writing before the hardware shows up. If they won't put it in writing, that's your answer.
Shift4 annual fee: quick answers
What is the Shift4 Annual Service & Maintenance Fee?
It's a single yearly charge that Shift4 introduced in 2026 to replace its Annual Program Fee and Regulatory Assurance Fee. It billed on the July statement received August 1, 2026. Merchants reported charges of $1,200 to $2,000 per account, and the notices Merchant Cost Consulting collected showed $1,500 to $2,000. Shift4 says it covers support, equipment swaps, and repairs.
Why does Shift4 charge an annual fee if the hardware is free?
Shift4's help desk says the annual fee is what lets it provide terminals and PIN pads "without upfront costs." The hardware is recovered over your contract through fees and processing markup.
How do I dispute the Shift4 annual fee?
In writing, within 30 days after you receive the statement (Section 4.3 of the Merchant Processing Agreement). If you paid a Regulatory Assurance or Annual Program Fee earlier in 2026, point out that Shift4's own guidance says the new fee replaces those.
How do I cancel Shift4 without an early termination fee?
Send written non-renewal notice at least 90 days before your term ends. Canceling mid-term triggers liquidated damages equal to your average monthly fees times the months remaining. Ask for that figure in writing before you decide.
Is SkyTab the same as Shift4 Dine?
Yes. SkyTab was renamed Shift4 Dine on May 12, 2026. The hardware, software, and contract terms carried over.
Sources
Primary documents (Shift4's own):
- Q2 2026 Shareholder Letter, SEC Exhibit 99.1, filed August 6, 2026 (customer acquisition framework, page 13; balance sheet, page 15)
- Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2026
- Merchant Processing Agreement Terms and Conditions
- Free Equipment Program Terms and Conditions
- Annual Program Fee Details, Shift4 help desk (shift4.zendesk.com article 4402018725907; the page was taken down after publication and now returns an error)
- Regulatory Assurance Fee (PCI), Shift4 help desk
- SkyTab is becoming Shift4 Dine, Shift4 release notes, May 2026
- Shift4 press release on online-order fees and signing bonus, July 27, 2023
- Q2 2026 earnings call transcript, The Motley Fool
Complaints and reviews (merchant accounts, unverified):
Industry analysis (MCC is a fee-audit firm with a commercial interest):
- Shift4 Annual Service and Maintenance Fee Explained, Merchant Cost Consulting, June 9, 2026
- Shift4 Rate Increases, Fees, and Updates, Merchant Cost Consulting
- Shift4 Decries 'Junk Fees' Levied by Rival Restaurant Processors, Digital Transactions, 2023
Legal history:
- Roma Pizzeria v. Harbortouch, N.J. Appellate Division opinion, 2025 (describes the 2014 settlement, final in 2015, and the 2023 class action)
Earlier on this blog: Shift4's new annual fee, first reported August 2026.
Figures and quotes are as of September 28, 2026. Shift4 contract terms vary by version and by reseller; the clauses cited are from the agreement posted on shift4.com. Nothing here is legal advice. If you're disputing a fee, talk to a lawyer.
